Purpose

IMG_0619

Someone in the audience asked, “How do you know you’re living your life’s purpose?” Good question!  How DO we know? Here were the answers from others in the room:

“No other place I’d rather be.”

“I’m happy.”

“I’m in a state of flow.”

“It feels like I’m being me.”

The women’s group in our neighborhood met to share business ideas and to talk about ourselves. Our SELVES. What do we fear? What do we seek? What do we need to feel like we are living our life’s purpose? How do we say “no”? As in NO. How do we protect our obliging, pleasing selves (many women fall into this category because of our role model moms) so we can live our life’s purpose on purpose?

Mark Twain said, “The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”

Sometimes the way we can be our best selves and find our purpose is to set boundaries. So sometimes we have to say “No.” Or say a qualified, controlled yes. “Tuesday after 3PM for thirty minutes.” We want to give our gifts to the people who will grow from our knowledge, our skillsets, and our experiences. This is another quote:

The meaning of life is to discover your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away. ~ Pablo Picasso.

We are here to do unto others. But not at the expense of our selves. Or we will have nothing to give. We must find out why we are here, per Mark Twain. Then we need to give our gift — perhaps it is our purpose  — to the rest of humanity. One at a time, or in a group, or through blogs. Like this one.

The same woman asked, “Can you have more than one purpose?”

I believe we can have more than one purpose. What do you believe?

Author: Kathryn Atkins

I write to live. I live to write and have recently published a literary collection, "Giving My Self to the Wind." I am a Huffington Post blogger and LinkedIn contributor. I play the piano by ear, I do Yoga, love TED talks, read a lot, and dance Flamenco. Married with grown children, I'm on my second or third self.

Leave a comment